Historically a seaside town, Rhyl has always been a popular destination for tourists thanks to its miles of sandy beaches. But there’s more to our heritage than the sea.
The origins of the town’s name are not known however it appears in old documents as Hulle Ryhull (1301), Hyll, Hull, Rhill and Rhûl Rhul with Rhyll becoming Rhyl in 1840.
It is thought the meaning of the word Rhyl is hill or hillock, which is reflected in the town council’s crest.
During the 19th and early 20th centuries, Rhyl boasted a thriving brickmaking industry with four clay pits on the edge of town, including the Cefndy Brickworks. Most of the red brick buildings in Rhyl dating between 1860 and 1940 were built from locally-made bricks.
Rhyl is also home to a number of Grade II listed buildings including Parish Church of St Thomas in Bath Street, the railway station, Royal Alexandra Hospital, Sussex Street Baptist Church and Rhyl Town Hall.
The town has seen many changes over the years with more on the way.
Rhyl railway station opened
North Wales gets its first pier, built in Rhyl at a cost of £15,000
Rhyl’s population stood at 8,473 - up from 5,000 in 1867
Rhyl hosted the National Eisteddfod
Rhyl Miniature Railway opened
Rhyl United became founder members of the Welsh National League
The Garden of Remembrance opens
Rhyl Football Club won the Welsh Cup for the second time
The Rhyl to Wallasey hovercraft service opened – a world first
The population of Rhyl was just over 21,000
The National Eisteddfod makes a welcome return. It was last here in 1953
The Pavilion Theatre was unveiled
The Sky Tower – all 80 metres of it - opened
Rhyl Football Club become League of Wales Premiership Champions
Development work starts along Rhyl’s front with retail and entertainment plans in the pipeline.
Discover more of our history:
Telephone: 01745 353 814